Department of Medicine

Indiana Alcohol Research Center

T32 Training Information

Indiana University has an institutional research training grant on the "Genetic Aspects of Alcoholism." The main focus of research training is on the genetic, biological, and molecular basis of high alcohol-drinking and -seeking behavior. Major topics of research include: neuronal mechanisms underlying the reinforcing effects of ethanol; the genetics of alcohol metabolizing enzymes and receptors involved in neurotransmission; the genetics of alcohol preference and correlated phenotypes in selectively bred rat and mouse lines; regulation of expression of genes associated with excessive alcohol drinking; analysis of the contribution of genetically-influenced biobehavioral factors, such as disinhibition/impulsivity and acute tolerance/insensitivity, to alcoholism risks in human populations and selectively bred rodents; examination of the genetic influence and history of drinking on the autonomic, electrophysiologic, neuroendocrine, and subjective measures of ethanol administration; and neurodevelopmental abnormalities of fetal alcohol syndrome in mouse and rat models.

The training grant offers predoctoral and postdoctoral fellowships. To be eligible for a fellowship, the candidate must be a U.S. citizen, a noncitizen national, or a permanent resident of the U.S.

Predoctoral applicants must have received a baccalaureate degree, and be a student in good standing in a graduate program leading to a Ph.D. Students must have completed the majority of their course work and have been accepted into a preceptors lab to do his/her PhD thesis work.

Application: The preceptor submits the application on behalf of the student. The application consists of (a) a detailed letter from the preceptor; this letter will contain a recommendation for the student and a research plan (brief paragraph); (b) the students CV, including graduate school transcripts; (c) a list of the preceptors funded grants (with annual direct costs and duration indicated); and (d) any other supporting information.

Selection criteria: The quality of the student, the research plan, and availability of grant funds to support the students research will be major factors in the selection.

Award information: Individuals applying for a predoctoral fellowship must have received by the beginning of the appointment a PhD, MD, DDS or comparable doctoral degree from an accredited or foreign institution. Individuals applying for a postdoctoral fellowship should have a Ph.D., M.D. or equivalent degree. The predoctoral fellowship provides a stipend (set by the NIH), and support for tuition, activity fees and medical insurance. For postdoctoral trainees, the stipends are also set by NIH and increase with years of experience and there are fees to cover a limited number of credit hours and medical insurance. In addition, for all trainees, there is a travel allowance to attend the national meeting of the Research Society on Alcoholism (or an equivalent meeting). Predoctoral awards are for a maximum of five years, whereas postdoctoral awards are for a maximum of three years.

Postdoctoral applicants must have received by the beginning of the appointment a PhD, MD, DDS, or comparable doctoral degree from an accredited or foreign institution.

More detailed information on training grants can be found at the NIH website.

Applicants should contact one of the preceptors listed below before applying. An application can be submitted at any time of the year, and consists of a letter from the preceptor and CV of the candidate. For predoctoral applications, the candidate should have completed a significant portion of course work and should include a list of courses completed with grades indicated. For postdoctoral applications, at least one letter of support from the former mentor or member of the thesis research committee should also be included.

Preceptors include faculty from several different departments who are actively engaged in research in the field of alcohol abuse and alcoholism.

Indiana School of Medicine
Richard Bell
Eric Engleman
David Kareken
William McBride
John Nurnberger Jr.
Sean O'Connor
Zachary Rodd
William Truitt
Karmen Yoder
Feng Zhou

Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis
Stephen Boehm
Melissa Cyders
Cristine Czachowski
Charles Goodlett
Nicholas Grahame
Christopher Lapish
Marian Logrip

Indiana University Bloomington
Peter Finn

Purdue University West Lafayette
Julia Chester


Please submit all applications to:

Dr. C. Czachowski, Ph.D
Director NIAAA Training Grant
Department of Psychology, IUPUI
402 N. Blackford St., LD 124
Indianapolis, IN 46202
Phone: (317) 274-4820
Fax: (317) 274-6756