Welcome to the Department of Medicine

IU-Based startup awarded $1.47 million to study atrial fibrillation, nerve activity

Krannert researcher Peng-Sheng Chen co-founded company that is exploring the body's fight-or-flight response

Meet the Chair

Please join us in viewing a video by Dr. Mark Geraci from his informational session earlier in the school year. Watch as Dr. Geraci shares with the audience his background, his values and his vision for the Department of Medicine. Questions and answers from audience members complete the presentation.

IU's Center for Global Health receives $7 million from Lilly Foundation

Funds will strenghten program development and establish two endowed chairs to advance global health research and health care delivery

Dr. Bruce A. Molitoris is one of five new distinguished professors

INDIANAPOLIS -- Five Indiana University scholars and researchers have been promoted to distinguished professor, the highest academic rank within the institution. The appointments were approved today by the IU Board of Trustees at their meeting on the campus of Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis.

Latest Kudos (Last Updated: 07/26/2016)

Kressel tapped for SHEA/CDC panel

Kressel Amy Kressel, M.D., Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases, has been selected as a member of the Advisory Panel for the SHEA/CDC Program: Training United States Healthcare Epidemiologists to Respond to Infectious Diseases Outbreaks and Public Health Emergencies. The panel is comprised of national subject matter experts and leaders in infectious disease outbreak response.The program is designed to offer resources and skill-building opportunities toward relating to the principles of emergency response.

Virtual tissue technology reveals new drug target in polycystic kidney disease

Robert Bacallao, M.D., Department of Nephrology, researcher in the new study involving a potential new drug target in the fight against polycystic kidney disease, an illness with no effective FDA-approved treatment that affects 200,000 people per year in the United States. Read More

Frump gains CTSI award renewal

Andrea Frump, Ph.D. (renewal), Department of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Sleep and Occupational Medicine, was among the recipients of the Indiana CTSI's 2016-17 TL1 Postdoctoral Training Awards. The awards, funded by the Indiana CTSI, with partial funding by the National Institutes of Health, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences, Clinical and Translational Sciences Award, and institutional support, are focused on improving young scientists. She is studying molecular and translational approaches to right ventricular failure.